Rearrange the Stones

IMG_8745
Image by Jennifer Dauphinais

I have a friend

Who knows how I feel

Who let’s me unravel

And holds the thread so I can roll myself back up

When it’s time

I have a friend

Who knows my story

Who picks up the phone in the middle of the day

And listens to the urgent status of things

A friend who knows the players and all of their plays

I have a friend

Who listens when I call

When I’m pulling up the grass between my fingers, rolling over in the sun

A friend who can absorb the vulnerabilities of my voice

And sends them back to me

I have a friend

Who shares my regrets

A friend that rejoices in our hopes

A place to rest without competing

And safe harbor in the understanding of one another

I have a friend

Who knows how far we’ve pushed the rock

Who understands when tears aren’t enough

And shares the love of a future yet to be known

A friend who can rearrange the stones

Leave a Reply

